The Selection by Kiera Cass

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.5


Okay, first of all, the cover is B-E-A-UTIFUL. It was the reason I first added it to my to-read list, long before I knew it was a popular YA novel.

And now for the story.
What a beautiful, beautiful book.

The Selection takes place in a fantasy-style dystopian, where the people are split into 8 caste levels, with One being royalty, and Eight being the lowest of the low. The story follows the journey of America Singer (I still can’t get over this name), a Five who becomes one of thirty-five possible suitors for Prince Maxon, a One. As she proceeds in the competition, America evidently becomes Maxon’s favorite, even against the lovable Marlee and the elegant Celeste.

And yet, America’s heart is torn between the prince and her lover from back home: Aspen, a Six.

Indeed, this is a story about a love triangle.

But that’s not all this story is. No, sir. While the smoochy-smoochy love goes on, two groups of rebels continually attack their land, threatening to topple the caste system.

The story ends before the Selection does – when America becomes one of six girls remaining in the competition.

And even though we already know America will be the chosen one, I am so glad that there was a sequel, because I needed more.

I really like Cass’ idea of having the Selection span several books. Compared to The Hunger Games, where Collins had each book come full circle, The Selection left me hungry for more.

The Elite, here I come.


View all my reviews

