The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.75


First, the cover for this book is absolutely perfect.

But I don’t really know what to think about the story. The writing in this is so elegant, so beautiful – Erin Morgenstern weaves such amazing passages of descriptions that sends tingles down my spine. I can’t actually visualize every aspect of the circus, and the occasional second-person scenario passages complete drew me in.

The Night Circus is a story about two magicians who are set against one another in a competition where no one knows the rules and no one knows how to win. But what makes this contest even more special, is that it takes place in a mysterious circus that appears only spontaneously at night. But anyways, when the contestants fall in love with one another, things are bound to get messy.

The writing for this book was beautiful.

And yet, something was lacking. The story was filled with pages and pages and pages of beautiful descriptions – but where did the plot go? It felt like everything was moving with a slow but steady pace, but at the same time the first 70% of the book had the same tone, the same vibe, and it felt as though nothing was really trying to push the story forwards.

About halfway through the book, it felt as though the big conflict had not yet revealed itself. Even the competition between Celia and Marco seemed too mild – Celia even said it wasn’t a big deal to them.

Honestly, I felt like I couldn’t get into the relationship between Celia and Marco; I just didn’t feel the spark. And so when Marco said that he was in love with Celia…I just…okay.

But even though I wasn’t too in love with Marco and Celia, I loved the scene where Isobel’s jealousy surfaces and she reveals her anger. The writing is heartbreaking – I could feel the hurt and envy that she had tried so hard to hide. BEAUTIFUL.

However, I really liked Bailey’s story – it is one that begins with a childhood memory and jumps to his troubles with adulthood. Whose dream should he live, his own or his father’s? The answer is simple, but it is also not, and The Night Circus portrays the struggles of a boy and the question of what destiny truly means.

Erin Morgenstern’s writing is so beautiful – I just wished that the story had moved a little faster. I especially enjoyed the ending and I wish the first half of the book had been as captivating as the last 30%.

Nevertheless, 3.75 stars for The Night Circus and the beautiful world Erin Morgenstern took me to.

And I shall end this review with my favorite quote:

Memories begin to creep forward from hidden corners of your mind. Passing disappointments. Lost chances and lost causes. Heartbreaks and pain and desolate, horrible loneliness.


View all my reviews

