Letters for Scarlet by Julie C. Gardner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.5


 

*Thank you to the author for providing a free e-copy of this book for a review!*

Wow, okay. I have to let this book settle for a little bit. The entire novel was an emotional roller coaster. I guess I should break it down.

Corie Harper and Scarlet Hinden – two ex-friends who are haunted by the memories of something that happened a decade ago.

But the past always catches up with you.

First of all, Letters for Scarlet is written in two perspectives, which y’all know I usually don’t enjoy very much. I kind of wonder what this book would be like if it was written from a single perspective, but I definitely know, that even though it took me a while to get into it and remember whose eyes I was reading from, without both the POVs the story would not have been such a wild ride.

I gotta say, Gardner pulled it off really well. All the characters were visibly flawed in the way where it was so easy to relate to, even if you’d never been in a situation similar to their’s.

Because let’s face it. Everyone’s felt guilty, worthless, and alone.

And both the main characters, Corie and Scarlet, embody these emotions and present them in a way that truly breaks your heart every step of the way.

The character development is absolutely amazing – it happened steadily and so subtly (kind of like in real life) that you wouldn’t have noticed until the end, how much the characters have matured and grown. But it’s there, clear as day, and when I finished the book, I truly believed that happy endings were possible.

I love books that break my heart.

And oh, god. The relationships are so perfect. Not perfect in the “we-are-so-in-love-so-let’s-be-sappy-and-cheesy” kind of way, but perfect in the way where there are so many holes and flaws in the relationship, and yet, at the end of the day, the two people remember how much they love each other and everything that’s broken is pieced together again.

And the writing style is so amazing – there are so many quotes that I’ve loved and highlighted and I just love going back and rereading them, but I don’t want to ruin anything, so I guess you’ll just have to read the book. 😉

Honestly, I’m at a loss for words even now and my chest really hurts with all the feelings I’ve had while reading this novel.

I think I’m going to go cry.


View all my reviews

