Fear My Mortality by Everly Frost

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.26


*I won a free e-copy of this book through LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review*

I know, I know, I know. 3.26 is a weird number. But I simply just couldn’t decide on a more common number that portrayed what I really thought about the book.

There are so many things that I liked and so many things that I didn’t – I think Fear My Mortality was the type of book where there was so much action happening with some internal conflict and sweet moments thrown in.

I think it’s time for me to get organized so:

What I liked:
– dialogue
– some moments between Michael and Ava
– dystopian universe
– some writing

What I didn’t like:
– pacing
– some writing

So I realize that this list doesn’t help that much, but there you go.

Anways, this story takes place in a world where people are invulnerable to illness and death. But when Ava watches her brother die, she realizes that she may be mortal as well.

Let’s start with the universe that the entire story is set in. It’s dystopian, which, to be honest, is like almost every YA book out there, but that didn’t stop me from liking the setting.

I do wish that we had more of a setting, as in – when exactly is this story happening, in relation to the real world? The technology they use sounds pretty recent (recent enough for me to imagine it all happening today) and yet the nectar and immortality serums make it seem as if it was happening far far far in the future.

Anyways, I’d say that the setting was a minimal problem for me; I could deal with it.

The pacing of the book was something else – it was action-packed, quick, and completely filled with plot twists and narrow escapes. It all happened super fast, and I don’t know if it was just a little messy or unclear – it was just hard to keep up with everything.

Michael was a character that I wished we saw a little more depth to. We know why he wanted to help Ava, but why led to that reason why? Why was he even there in the first place? There are so many sweet and funny moments between Ava and Michael that I loved, but part of me also wished that we had seen more of who he really was as well – just his everyday personality, not the part of him that fiercely wanted to protect Ava or make up for what he had done.

I also wish there was more of a development between Ava and Michael regarding their relationship – he killed her brother, and yet the fast pacing of the book filtered in and she trusted him very quickly. Maybe it was because she needed someone, anyone – but I do wish we saw more growth.

Two other characters that really left a big question mark were Ava’s parents – their ending is left really open-ended, and I kind of wish there were more information about them after they left just to remind us that they had been there in the first place and were in fact quite important.

I guess the writing style was okay – there weren’t any quotes that shattered my soul into a million pieces, just some that tugged at my heartstrings.

Overall, I don’t know if this would be one of those books that led to a tear-soaked pillow, or one where I waited anxiously about the sequel. It wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t mind-blowing, but I wouldn’t have any objection to reading book two.

I probably will, to be honest; the premise of this book is really interesting, and I’m quite curious to see more moments between Ava and Michael 😉

So, let’s see. 3.0 stars for the book overall, but I added that lil 0.26 just for the Ava + Michael moments.


View all my reviews

