The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5!


Whew, I really gotta catch my breath about this one. It was such a twisting and winding road – even confusing at times – but I can’t deny how amazing the writing style and story is.

I’d read 17 & Gone by Nova Ren Suma last year and honestly, had absolutely NO idea what to expect or who she was. I do remember loving the book and writing style, and imagine my surprise when I found out The Walls Around Us was by the same author!

It was somewhat of a cross between a psychological thriller and a paranormal mystery, and the line between what’s real and what’s not definitely blurs into one another, keeping the reader on their toes to find out what the story is about. There are definite themes that can be applied to real life: Suma does extremely well portraying the poison of jealousy and anger, as well expressing the transition from an absolute feeling of hopelessness to seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

The Walls Around Us is written in dual perspective (which I normally don’t like, but Suma made it work), with one perspective from Amber, a girl in the Aurora Hills Juvenile Detention Center, and the other from Violet, an aspiring dancer. I loved both, I really did, but I have to admit that Amber’s perspective appealed to me more because it had more of the dark atmosphere and suspense. I did really like Violet’s perspective near the end, where the truth was being revealed (no spoilers 😉 ).

I’m honestly not sure how much I should reveal about this story, since there are so many aspects of this book that you need to read to understand, but The Walls Around Us is definitely a book I would recommend!

(I know this was a shorter review, but I’m really just speechless about everything)


View all my reviews

