Dreamology by Lucy Keating

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.25


Okay, so the premise of Dreamology is fantastic. It centers around Alice, who’s been dreaming of the perfect guy, Max, for forever. They’ve done all sorts of crazy and romantic things, and Alice is quite certain that he’s the one. But that’s the thing about dreams – they’re not real.

And yet, funnily enough, on her first day at a new school, she sees him – the guy from her dreams. But of course, things aren’t going to go smoothly; Dream Max and Real Max couldn’t be more different, and Alice is crushed when she realizes that her happily ever after isn’t going to come right away.

And yet, when reality and fiction start to blur, Alice and Max realize that they’re running out of time – but are they willing to put a stop to their dreams, if it means letting go forever?

Alright, I’ve definitely got a lot to say for this one.
I’ll start by listing out the three biggest things: writing style, plot, and character.

For this book, I’d say that writing style was the thing that really kept me going – it wasn’t “beautiful” writing, to be honest – not like The Perks of Being a Wallflower or The Fault in Our Stars. If anything, I’d say that it was a book that was easy to get through – it was smooth and cute and light – a quick read. And because it was written like that, I found that I was able to fly through the story.

As for plot, I’m a little indecisive.
At a glance, I’d say that the plot was relatively well planned and organized – it was full of action and between those there were cute lil moments that really made me go:

The story moved along at the perfect pace, I’d say, so that definitely wasn’t an issue.
What was a problem, in my opinion, was the fact that the plot was very character-centric, meaning that everything that happened in the story seemed to be there solely for the purpose of saying: “this is why these two characters should be together.”

Now, that leads me to another problem: characters.
For me (and it seems like many others), character was really a problem – especially Alice. I too felt like she was whiney and annoying – overly obsessed with making Max her entire life, even if it meant claiming him as her very own (despite the fact that they had just met), even if it meant betraying a perfectly nice girl who considered Alice a friend.

Now, it could be argued that this was what Alice was supposed to be like – she was supposed to grow from a selfish, immature girl to someone who understood what it meant to live life.
The problem was, I don’t think she really learned her lesson – after she was caught cheating, it still seemed like she was desperate for Max to be hers – and she continued to victimize herself, saying she was hurt because of his indecisiveness, or even because he wasn’t as perfect as she had imagined.

So really, sometimes I just wanted to:

Alice, pull it together.

Continuing with the issues of characters and what I said before about the plot being character-centric – I believe this applies to side characters as well.
Characters like Oliver and Sophie and Celeste all had so much potential, but they seemed to just be “there”, whether it was for comedic relief, or to push Max and Alice together.
Not only did I ship Oliver and Alice more than I shipped Alice and Max, but I also felt like Oliver’s jump from Alice to Sophie was a weak way of saying that he had no chance and could just move on to someone else and let Max and Alice have their happily ever after.

The general idea: Writing style was smooth, plot was a little character-centric, the main character was a bit over the top, and I wished the side characters had more screen time.


View all my reviews

