Given three random books, which ones you would burn, rewrite, or reread? Here’s what I would do.

Firstly, thank you to Gel @Books y Gel for tagging me! (Read hers here.)


Rules

  • Randomly choose 3 books – I’ll be using Goodreads to sort them randomly.
  • For each trio, decide which book you’d want to burn burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.
  • Repeat for five (or three) rounds.

Round 1

brr1.jpg

Burn: Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman

Okay, so this book wasn’t bad per se, but I just remember that reading this felt a little like swimming through mud – could’ve been the writing style and the pacing, but the book just didn’t work for me.

Rewrite: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Don’t get me wrong – I love the Hunger Games series. But in my opinion, the series started to go down after the first book. I think it may be that the writing style felt a little detached for me, even though I was such a fan of the premise.

Reread: Legend by Marie Lu

I absolutely loved this book (and its sequels) – everything was well written and well-paced. It’s definitely something I would revisit.


Round 2

brr2.jpg

Burn: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

This was such a tough decision, but alas, at the end of the day, City of Bones just can’t compare to the other two. I am a fan of this series, but if I had to burn one of these three, this would be the one.

Rewrite: Champion by Marie Lu

Now, don’t get me wrong – I will love this series forever, but there’s just some parts that I’d really want to erase and change. (If you’ve read this book, I’m pretty sure you’d know what I’m talking about.)

Reread: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Words cannot describe how much I love this series and the characters in it – I would reread this, 100%. And I actually like The Infernal Devices better than The Mortal Instruments…


Round 3

brr3.jpg

Burn: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

This one is loved by so many people, but it just wasn’t for me. I felt like it fell flat after Anna and the French Kiss, and I would honestly have no problem turning it into ashes.

Rewrite: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

This one was such a hard decision for me. The Secret Garden is definitely a childhood favorite of mine – I still have my copy from elementary school. And I honestly wouldn’t know how to rewrite it and allow it to retain it’s innocent charm – but for the sake of this game, this is what I would put it into.

Reread: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

This is here because it’s a classic fandom book – and the way everything is written is so perfectly sweet and humorous – I honestly wouldn’t change a thing.


Round 4

brr4.jpg

Burn: Being Friends with Boys by Terra Elan McVoy

When I read this one, I remember it being extremely different from the blurb; I don’t think it was a very enjoyable read for me overall – a little frustrating and bland, although it did make for a quick read.

Rewrite: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I had so much trouble deciding what to put here, because The Night Circus was written beautifully, and yet the pacing was a little uneven. But rewriting it would surely make it lose its magic. But I chose to keep it here in the end – despite the magnificent writing style, I wish the plot had moved along faster and I could’ve been more into it. (Read my review here.)

Reread: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I remember loving this one when I read it – it was beautiful, sweet, touching – everything I’d wanted in a contemporary. I’ve been planning on rereading it too, so I’d have no problem putting it here.


Round 5

brr5.jpg

Burn: Extras by Scott Westerfeld

I remember being a little bored and frustrated with this series overall (although I did make myself finish it), but nevertheless, it definitely wouldn’t be too high on my rating scale.

Rewrite: Dreamology by Lucy Keating

What a coincidence that I just posted a review for it! (Read it here). Anyways, like I said in that review, I thought the idea was amazing, but execution was a little iffy – definitely rewrite.

Reread: The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

This used to be one of my top favorites – I thought it was an exciting story, a fascinating idea, and an interesting novel overall.


Hope you enjoyed that! Feel free to tag me in any other book tags!

