The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.5


The Darkest Corners follows Tessa as the death of her imprisoned father brings her back to Fayette, the town in Pennsylvania that holds all the memories that haunt her. As she reunites with Callie, her ex-best friend who parties to forget, Tessa finds herself investigating another murder, which seems oddly similar to one that happened years ago – the murder of Lori, Callie’ cousin. What does this mean? It means that the murderer could still be at large and the man Callie and Tessa landed in jail ten years ago could be innocent.

As the girls find themselves tangled up in the lies they’ve told, they find themselves playing a dangerous game, where one of them – or both – could end up dead.

Boy, this book is so hard to rate. The writing style was extremely engaging but I didn’t quite like it. Does that even make sense? I was pulled in, but I didn’t enjoy it. Thomas’ writing style isn’t unique or dazzling ,but something about it really worked for the story that was being told.

The pacing of the story was definitely slow in the beginning, but it was the writing style that kept me going. I definitely started to speed up towards the middle, and it was an engaging read until the very end. There were definitely lots of twists, and the ending was definitely unexpected, but I still didn’t feel blown away or speechless.

I’m not sure what to think about the characters, honestly. It was kind of hard to connect and I don’t really feel that they were three-dimensional, but I do like the dynamic of the relationship between Tessa and Callie. (I ALSO LOVE DEXTER.)

One thing I really love about this book, though, is that it depicts the range at which people fall in. Unlike some books where everyone is flawed and horrible, The Darkest Corners has the entire set: there are characters that are plainly horrible, but then are people who make bad decisions because they’re hurting, people who fall victim to greed, people who do bad things because they’re afraid, and people who are strong enough to resist doing things like that even if things are going downhill.

I really respect that, and so I would say that this was worth the read even though it was a little “meh” at the same time.


View all my reviews

