The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.5


I’m debating whether or not I’ll rate this a three or a four on Goodreads.

Anyways. The Problem with Forever focuses on Mallory Dodge, a quiet girl who learned, by growing up in an abusive household, that silence was the best defense.

But that was years ago, and although she’s been living with loving, adoptive parents, she must face her fear when she starts attending public high school. She is terrified to be out in the open, away from the protection of her quiet homeschooling, but when she runs in Rider Stark, her childhood best friend, she realizes that she hasn’t been the only one suffering.

Although Rider and Mallory haven’t seen each other for years, it becomes evident that their connection is still there. Rider has always been the stronger one, the one Mallory hid behind, but when Rider’s life begins to spiral out of control, Mallory realizes that this time, speaking out might be her only option.

Okay, so the writing style in this was definitely really engaging and touching. I thought the relationship between Rider and Mallory was developed really well and there were so many scenes that just hit me.

Looking at the characters, I did like most of them. Most of them.
Mallory was pretty relatable and likeable as a main character, although there were some moments that seemed kind of irritating and “ugh”.

Carl and Rosa, Mallory’s current foster parents, kind of got a little annoying halfway throughout, but I did like how everything was resolved at the end. Oh, and the scene where Mallory finally stood up to them?

But then there were other characters like Jayden and Hector and Kiera and I just felt a little meh about them. I feel like I didn’t get to know them as well as I hoped.

In terms of plot, this was definitely a mix of a lot of things – not your typical contemporary novel. However, there were moments that just didn’t seem to fit. The story seemed to lean towards the more serious ends of the spectrum as Mallory’s fear and abusive background were addressed, but at the end of the story, the plot seemed to drift more towards a typical chick lit. It seemed like everything had just about been resolved, but that final little conflict had to be added in there just to have a bit more drama.

I think I would’ve been more okay with it if it fit in with the tone of the story, but like I said, it suddenly felt cliche and I think it gave the book a weaker finish.

However, overall, I would say that this was an interesting and enjoyable read – it was engaging enough for me to finish in less than a day, and although there were things I didn’t like, I’m glad I read it.

After writing this review, I feel like it’s more of a three star than a four star, so that’s what I’m giving it.


View all my reviews

