It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.0


Lily’s life has never been easy, but when she meets Ryle Kincaid, it feels like things are beginning to look up. But Ryle is hiding something, and even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to all his rules, Lily realizes that something’s not quite right.

And of course, Lily could never forget her first love, Atlas Corrigan. He meant everything to her, and she meant everything to him – even if they haven’t contacted in years. When Atlas reappears, Lily’s world comes crashing down.

Oh, Colleen Hoover. You did it again. Let me begin this review by saying something about Colleen Hoover’s books. While I may not have always connected to the characters or loved the plot, the one thing that has remained consistently heartbreaking is the writing style. It Ends With Us is no different.

I feel like another strong aspect for this was the characters. Each and every person in this story is extremely three-dimensional, realistic, and easy to connect with, and Hoover illustrates how complicated life can be. This story really made me think about what I would do if I was in this situation; I had been just like Lily at the beginning – I knew exactly what I would do if someone ever hurt me. I would leave.

But It Ends With Us is a book that really makes you think and makes you question everything that you’ve believed in, and I really commend Hoover for that.

I’m really not sure about the plot for this; I definitely wasn’t as engaged in this story as I was with CoHo’s other books, but I did like the realistic complexity.

I know Colleen Hoover writes romance, but I still can’t help wondering how the story would have turned out if Atlas hadn’t been there.

And that’s kind of another thing – Atlas was a three-dimensional character, but it just felt like he was “there” as a plot device, to remind Lily about her past. I wish there was more of him as a character. And I kind of wish there was more of Lily too. Afterwards, I couldn’t help but feel like Ryle was the one the story focused on.

Right now I’m super afraid of giving anything away, so I’ll just end it here:

Overall, I’d just have to say that this was definitely not my favorite Colleen Hoover book, although I do admire her for addressing the topic of domestic abuse in a way that reveals how complex and blurred it is.


View all my reviews

