BoyzNite by Xane J. Fisher

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.75


*Thank you to Royal James Publishing for providing me with a free pdf of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

BoyzNite follows Ian Peters, a law student, as he visits home and reconnects with his friends and family. What begins as a night of drinking and partying becomes something quite different when he runs into someone he used to know.

The first thing I felt after reading this book was “Damn it, I need more.”
A problem that short stories often have is that they don’t pack enough of a punch in the few pages they have. BoyzNite doesn’t have this problem. It’s extremely heavy and thought-provoking, and really allowed me to see that what we see and understand is often not the full picture. That line on the cover: “Living is easy with eyes closed” sums it up pretty well.

Although everything progressed a little slowly, I gave this short story a high rating because I did feel like the ending left me with many questions and the feeling of wanting to know the real world better. BoyzNite is a painfully authentic story about modern issues and what people do when they have no other choice.


View all my reviews

