Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.75

Read more to enter the e-book giveaway!


Thing are a little different today – I’m also hosting a giveaway for this e-book! There will be about 7 winners, and you can enter until September 28! There are epub and mobi/kindle formats. The giveaway form is at the end of this post, after the review. Good luck everyone!


*Thank you to the author for providing me a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review.*

Okay, believe me, Environmentally Friendly is nothing like what the title implies. The short story follows Sgt. Major Bushnell, who’s just broken out of a psychiatric ward. He’s determined to get his revenge on Mother Nature, and he immediately starts wreaking havoc. Though the Los Angeles police department is after him, one of the officers, Sgt. Schaefer, isn’t, and he’s got a great reason why not.

This was definitely not what I had expected, and I thoroughly enjoyed how action-packed and thrilling it was. Although this book is short – only 19 pages – the author was really able to pack in a lot of energy and intensity. While I thoroughly enjoyed the fast pace of the story, I can’t help but wonder about how this premise would do as a full-blown novel, and I must say that I am very interested in learning more about the setting and characters that were present in this short story.

The characters were definitely very unique, and I felt like the author molded them very well into the story – they felt like people with real thoughts and motives. Although I got a feel for who they were, I was left feeling like I wanted to know more. This is definitely understandable, considering how limited short story lengths can be, but because the entire story was full of action and movement, I just wish I could find out more about who the characters were.

I thought the writing was very well done – it was definitely descriptive, and I felt like it this effective style really helped the scene move along.

Overall, I would definitely read something else by this author, and I recommend Environmentally Friendly for anyone looking for a fast read that is intense, thrilling, and full of action.


Giveaway Time!

All you have to do is fill out this form and wait! The deadline is the 28th of September and 7 winners will be announced soon afterwards.

A huge thanks to the author, Elias Zanbaka, for the short story, and good luck to all of you!


View all my reviews

