Two by Jane Blythe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.25


*Thank you to the author for providing me a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

Another great romantic suspense from Jane Blythe!

Two begins on the Everette family’s estate, with the murder of Brooke Mariano. The case seems unsurprising at first glance – Brooke is pregnant, and the father of her child is unknown – and so the detectives assume that this is what the murder was centered around. Until a member of the Everette family turns up dead. And another. And another. Every night, a new family member is found dead, and as the clock starts counting backwards, Detective Ryan Xander knows he has limited time. When he meets Sofia Everette, possibly the only person he can get answers from, he realizes that the story may be much more twisted than he had anticipated, and that he must solve it, before Sofia becomes the murderer’s next victim.

The writing style was just as engaging as the first, and I thought that the characters were extremely well done as well. I especially enjoyed how three-dimensional Sofia was and how realistic she seemed. Throughout the story, Sofia seemed to exemplify so much internal conflict, whether it was about falling in love or about the meaning of family.

The plot of Two was definitely more complex than I had expected, and what I love about it is that it really displays the situation as one that is three-dimensional and layered. Rather than having a simple mystery surrounding the binary between good (victim) and evil (perpetrator), Two reveals a situation in which things are not so black and white.

This time, however, I felt like the reveal was much less surprising, and since it came much earlier in the book, there were times where I felt like I was already at the falling action even though the climax seemed to come later. While I do like the employment of dramatic irony in terms of the identity of the murderer, part of me wishes that the mystery had been kept a little longer so that the suspenseful tone could have existed more in the book.

Overall, I would say that the first one in this series is still my favorite due to the plot and tone quality, but I still really enjoyed this story and I am looking forward to reading book three and seeing how it all ties together!


View all my reviews

