The Land’s Whisper by Monica Lee Kennedy

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.0


*Thank you to the author for providing me a free copy in exchange for an honest review!*

Oh god, okay, so I got a copy of it all the way back in June, but I only had time to start reading it in August…BUT I’M FINALLY FINISHED AND I LOVED IT!

Anyways, The Land’s Whisper takes place in a fantasy setting and follows Darse and his surrogate son, Brenol, as they return to a world that is teeming with power. They’re on a mission to save a young girl, but along the way, Brenol finds out that he has the power to speak with the land, an ability that few are granted. The catch? This consumes people, takes over them, and makes them do anything to keep their powers. As Darse and Brenol journey through a mysterious land, Brenol’s power gains strength. It can save them, but it can also destroy them.

Whew, this was a great read! Firstly, let me just say that I was extremely busy and was forced to read this book in intervals – averaging about chapter a day. But it was definitely a really engaging journey! Admittedly, I was a little lost at first – as I always am, when highly fantasized settings are involved – but the story and the setting definitely grew on me and I found that I was able to truly grasp the beauty of the world the author had created. Throughout the story, I really appreciated how the imagined setting tied together with the story; instead of making the location seem like a backdrop, it was part of the story, and there was a very delicate balance between dynamic movement and serenity that I really grew to love.

The characters were definitely three-dimensional and developed. I loved all of them, and it was beautiful to read about the internal conflicts that each character had to face and how they dealt with it in their own ways. Brenol’s battle with the power that threatened to consume him was mesmerizing, and I loved reading about the tug of war that he felt and how his character would develop and grow to understand himself as the story progressed. Darse had his own demons to face as well, and after reading and seeing him as a sort of adult figure, it was heartbreaking, yet comforting, to see a different side of him that was emotionally raw and realistic. Even the side characters had their own stories, and I enjoyed reading about each and every one of them.

The writing in this book was definitely a very strong aspect – it was fluent and vividly descriptive, which really brought the book to life for me. The style itself had a surrealistic tone to it, and I feel like this mood really added to the reading experience.

All in all, I’d say that this book is definitely one I would recommend to people who love fantasy! It did take me a while to get into – while I loved the writing in the beginning, I was a little confused as to what was going on – but things are revealed as the story progresses and I think that anyone who reads on would grow to love the beautiful world and characters that Monica Lee Kennedy has created.


View all my reviews

