Escaping Memories by Amanda Siegrist

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.5


*Thank you to the author for providing a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

This is one of those books that really, really, really make me wish that Goodreads had a decimal rating system, because 3 felt too low, but I didn’t feel confident in rating this a 4.

Escaping Memories centers around Sheriff Logan Caldwell, who comes home one day to find a bruised and bloody woman in his cabin. She’s completely lost her memories, and Logan is determined to help her find out who she is.

There are parts of this book that I really loved, and there are some parts that I’m a little iffy about.

Firstly, I thought that the character development was solid, especially in the heroine. At the beginning, I was hesitant at how readily she seemed to connect with Logan despite their bumpy introduction. I do understand how vulnerable the woman had been when she stumbled upon him, but I felt like she did become too dependent on him; this thought followed me through the book, but as the story progressed, there was clear character development on her part as she learned how to find out things for herself.

I thought that the other characters were developed as well, and I very much enjoyed the sibling dynamics that were present throughout the story, especially between Kat and Logan. In fact, I think Kat was one of my favorite characters in the story. She was supportive and likable, and I felt like she perfectly exemplified intelligence and independence in a very subtle manner.

I quite enjoyed reading the plot, although it did move slowly at the beginning. The first 40% or so seemed to focus more on the relationship between the woman and Logan, and while I do love reading about them, I wish that there had been more paced buildup regarding the crime, rather than fitting everything into the second half. I also wish we could see more into the crime itself and interact more with the people who were involved. I liked how the story had closure, but the motivations and backstories were revealed in one take as characters recounted what they had learned, and I simply wish the suspense had contributed more to the story itself.

I thought that the writing style was engaging, and the book seemed professionally edited for the most part – there was one incorrect use of “you’re/your” – but overall, the writing style was clear-cut and interesting.

All in all, I would say that this was a pretty good read; evidently, there are some parts that missed the mark for me, but I would say that the strongest aspects of this book were its characters and how their personalities intertwined and moved the story along.


View all my reviews

