Unveiling Chaos by Jeannine Allison

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.75


*Thank you to the author for providing me an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review!*

First of all, let me just say that the cover for this absolutely gorgeous, and both the title and the cover fit this story so well, and I am so in love with them!

Unveiling Chaos tells us Naomi’s story as everything suddenly changes. Her boyfriend of five years leaves her, her mother reappears in her life, and Naomi starts to question her relationship with someone who she had meant to be nothing but a distraction, a one-night stand.

And yet, Naomi can’t deny that she has a special connection with Damien, and Damien can’t deny that he wants more. But can they both hold on when everything around them seems so insistent on tearing them apart?

Firstly, I will admit that I liked the first book better because of how it addressed the issue of depression. While this book did cover drug and alcohol addiction, which I very much commend the author for, I can’t help but feel like sometimes it felt a little detached and took a backseat became a sort of plot device, whereas in Unveiling The Sky, depression seemed to integrate itself into the characters itself.

The writing style was beautiful, just like the first book. It was extremely engaging and beautiful, and the dialogue was very realistic.

The characters in this book were definitely very three-dimensional. I will admit that I was a little hesitant towards the way Naomi and Damien began their journey together, but as the story progressed, I really got to understand why they worked well together and why they would feel the way they did. Naomi, especially, I think, was a character that I grew to love with all my heart; I had liked her in the prequel, but this book really brought her out as her own person, and it was a beautiful experience to read about the way she developed and grew to love and forgive.

The plot for this was definitely well done, however. I felt as though it had just the right amount of chaos, where I could understand why Naomi or Damien were acting a certain way, but at the same time, the plot was extremely realistic, and I immensely enjoyed how the conflicts that Naomi felt really blurred the lines between right and wrong.

It’s so important to understand that people are not their flaws; just like how Alara wasn’t her depression, Naomi’s mother and Ellie were not their addictions. This is so important, and I think the way this was addressed in the book was definitely something that made it a beautiful read.


View all my reviews

