Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Actual Rating: 10 out of 10!


HEY GUYS! So I just got back from the theatre – and yes, I know this is a BOOK review blog, but Fantastic Beasts did start from the book technically and I just have so much to say! Note: I’m trying to keep this review spoiler free though!

My initial reaction was this: Holy cheeseballs, that was amazing.

My reaction now is this: Holy cheeseballs, that was amazing.

So yeah, if you haven’t guessed already, the movie was pretty good. I’m going to start out by saying that I’m an avid Harry Potter fan, and will most definitely be biased.

Anyways, it was such an emotional journey for me to return to this beautiful world. The settings were absolutely breathtaking, and it really felt like the entire wizarding world was expanded. I absolutely adored how different the American community looked from the English one, and even the muggle world was portrayed historically accurately.

The characters were phenomenal. I thought each and every character definitely had their own distinct voice and they were extremely three-dimensional. I’m definitely trying not to give too much stuff away, but the characters each had their own stories and you know, J.K. Rowling did her thing and tied them all together beautifully.

Now, the plot of the movie was unlike any other Harry Potter movie – or any movie I’ve seen, for that matter. There was a really powerful balance between humor and darker themes that Jo included in the Harry Potter books: abuse, discrimination, the manifestation of fear. All of these definitely had a part in the story, and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is not a movie that you watch once and move on. (For example, I’ve been talking to my friend for hours about any hidden easter eggs, connections, parallels, symbolism, or theories, and we’ve still got plenty more to discuss.)

Not only that, but the plot was so twisted and unexpected – it really kept you on your toes. The movie also played around with that kind of dual storyline that ends up intertwining, and the reveal was nothing short of extraordinary.

This movie has got something really different from the original HP premise – as much as I love a great wand duel, there was something about Newt and how he interacted with his animals that showed that magic was not all about “silly wand waving”. And I have to say – those scenes definitely tugged at my heartstrings.

As a first in a series, FBWFT leaves such a wide range of possibilities open, and I couldn’t be more excited to find out where the story could go. The reappearances of some characters we already know was definitely something that I am anticipating, and I have to say that all the creatures we see are so original and beautiful – I would love to see more.

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, definitely watch this movie – I promise it won’t ruin the world for you – it’ll make it a hundred times better. If you’re not a Harry Potter fan, well, watch this movie anyways – you just might change your mind.

 

 

