Return to the Sky by Jenny Lynne

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.25


*Thank you to the author for providing a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

After the shocking ending of Book 1, Seven, an eighteen-year-old girl living in a dystopian universe, has to figure out how to navigate her new life while making sure her secrets are safe.

And Jenny Lynne has done it again! This book was amazing, yet again, and I was shocked and engaged at every turn. The plot definitely had its ups and downs, and this time it followed both Seven and Six, Seven’s sister. One thing I will have to admit, however, is that I felt like I was more emotionally invested in Seven’s story because of everything we’ve read in the prequel. That’s not to say that Six’s story wasn’t exciting – it was definitely action-packed, but I just found that I was more excited to see how Seven would handle everything that was being thrown at her.

The characters were, for the most part, the same from the previous book, although we do see a few new faces. Jenny Lynne did a great job introducing them to us and showing their personalities in a few chapters. We could really see Seven develop as the story progressed; the same could be said for Six – although I did feel a little frustrated with her actions in the beginning.

The writing style was very catchy and engaging, and it definitely moved the story along at a smooth, fast pace. With that being said, however, I did seem to notice a pattern in the writing. For almost all of the chapters, the author seemed to end the same way: one definitive sentence that felt like a cliffhanger or sounded “deep”. While I absolutely LOVE this type of writing, it does seem to get a little tedious when the same writing tool appears over and over again.

Overall, I would definitely still recommend this series to everyone, especially those who like reading dystopian novels. Last time, I remember writing that the author had a great blend of more mundane, contemporary obstacles and issues that were more of the dystopian genre, and this is still extremely visible in this book, which really does set it apart from others of its kind.


View all my reviews

