The Forbidding Blue by Monica Lee Kennedy

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Review: 5


*Thank you to the author for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review!*

This is my favorite out of the entire series. No contest. If you read The Land’s Whisper and Eyes in the Water and thought they were good, keep reading – you ain’t seen nothin’ yet.

Of course, the first thing I’ll have to do is comment on the mesmerizing writing style. From book one, I’ve been saying how unique Monica Lee Kennedy’s writing is, and this is no exception. Her words are fluid and tranquil, which perfectly suits the surreal world she’s created.

The character development never stops either. Throughout The Forbidding Blue, we really see the ups and downs people go through as they grow. Each character is so three-dimensional; Brenol, especially, has such apparent internal conflicts, and it has been amazing to see him transform across the three books. There is really a visible struggle within all the characters, which adds to how realistic they are and reminds us, the readers, of what it means to be human.

Now, the plot. Oh man…I don’t even know where to begin. In a lot of my reviews, I say that the story was full of “ups and downs” and “a wild roller coaster ride”. Now, I’m thinking I might have to raise my standards for that phrase. The Forbidding Blue has honestly redefined what it means to be unpredictable. Just when you think everything is about to resolved, BAM! Something new gets in the way. There is a TON of dramatic irony in this book, and since I was reading it late at night, I was trying not to scream and release all the emotions I felt. That’s definitely a sign of a good story – although it was painful.

It’s been about a month since I finished this book, but I still remember all of it, and I still haven’t recovered. I would recommend this to EVERYONE, honestly – even if fantasy isn’t your favorite genre, I’d still say this: give the book a try and see where it takes you.

And finally, thank you Monica Lee Kennedy, for the beautiful adventure.


View all my reviews

