Hart of His by Annie Arcane

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5


*I received a free e-copy of this book in exchange for my full and honest opinion.*

So I read Hart Broken six months ago, and it was a book that completely tore apart my heart, stomped on it, and put it back together again. Cale and Mickey’s journey was so much more than a love story, and I was ever so excited to read a little bit more about them.

This book did not disappoint. Firstly, let me just say that if you’re looking at the description and thinking, “92 pages? Please, what could go wrong?”
Well, here is my response:

You’re in for a wild ride. Hart of His reveals the ups and downs of Mickey and Cale’s relationship, and it reminds all of us that happy ever afters aren’t always so easy. Reading the story from Cale’s point of view really gave me more insight into his character, and man, I only fell in love with him even more.

Obviously this is a novella, and the story isn’t as fleshed out. This book feels a bit more like a collection of chronological scenes, instead of a continuous stream, but nevertheless, it was executed well and still felt like puzzle pieces that fit together perfectly. For 92 pages, the plot is extremely packed with emotion, tension, and obstacles that made both the characters and the story itself feel that much more real.

Annie’s writing is once again captivating, beautiful, hilarious, and unique – all in one. It was so easy to fall into the minds of the characters, and the dialogue and thoughts were all so witty and hilarious.

Overall, this was a great reading experience – short, but memorable. If you read Hart Broken and loved it, definitely read this. If you haven’t yet, well start that right now – you won’t regret it!


View all my reviews

