Ink and Tarnish by Elizabeth Colburn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5


*Thank you to the author for providing a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

Everyone who likes YA, listen up, you’re going to love this one. Ink and Tarnish begins with a wedding ceremony. It has been three years since the Rose Plague killed off half the female population and turned the other half into prized possessions, and now it is Inali Vestos’ turn to be bought, this time for 5,000 gold coins. Her husband is…different. But only time will tell.

I absolutely LOVED this one! From the first page, I was hooked. The premise is definitely very interesting – though it does remind me of The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. The plot, so far, definitely seems very fleshed out, though we don’t see much of it because this series is written in “episodes”. I’d say that this story got through the exposition and only scratched a little at the rising action, but it definitely made me want more, especially since the ending was a bit of a mini-cliffhanger.

I loved the main character from the very beginning. Unlike a lot of YA female leads, who are typically the “rash” and “outgoing” type, Inali has a different type of strength. It is more quiet and subtle, but through her curiosity and contemplation, the readers see just how strong she can be.

The writing style was extremely engaging throughout. It was descriptive and fluent, powerful in all the right places. It does have the typical “Young Adult” feel to it, but as a fan of this genre, I fell into this book very well.

I would recommend it to everyone who enjoys reading YA, and although Ink and Tarnish is just the beginning, I can’t wait to read more.


View all my reviews

