Three by Jane Blythe

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5.0


*Thank you to the author for providing me a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

Five months ago, I read One and Two by Jane Blythe. I was immediately drawn in by all the unpredictable twists and turns. I started Three with unmeasurable excitement and anticipation, and lo and behold – it did not disappoint.

Three follows two killers: one who targets couples and kills only one, and the other who targets cheaters and drowns them in their own blood. When the two killers meet, they throw caution to the wind and become an unstoppable force.

Annabelle Englewood from One returns, still recovering from the betrayal she experienced eight months ago. Sofia Everette from Two returns, still recovering from the betrayal she experienced five months ago. When the two meet, it seems as though they can help each other cope with their past scars and above all, fight a battle that is still not over.

But that’s not just it. Behind the scenes, two of the characters have stalkers.

Whew, this book was such a roller coaster ride! The plot, once again, was full of surprises, and it was super interesting to see how the two sets of characters came together to form one wild story. Three was just as captivating as the previous two books – and perhaps even more so.

What I really love about this type of formatting is that all the characters each had a full book to develop on their own and let the readers understand who they were. Going into Three, I felt like I already knew Annabelle and Sofia very well, but I was even more excited to see what their relationship dynamic would be. I continued to love Xavier and Ryan (Annabelle and Sofia’s boyfriends), and I absolutely loved how they both supported the girls and let them be strong for themselves.

Another thing that is extremely unique about this book is how we follow the killers throughout their journeys both apart and together. The readers had full books to get to know them as well, but Three takes the cake – I could have never imagined what they would have been like together, and there were moments where I actually felt like they seemed normal. These snapshots, where I understood why they thought the way they did, were scary because of how suddenly mundane they were, but I commend the author for being able to create antagonists that were not simply evil, but were multifaceted and layered and seemed like actual people.

I’ve loved the writing style for this entire series, and it continued throughout this story. I felt completely immersed in the book, and I found myself speculating about who I thought was the stalker and how I thought the plot would play out.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to everyone – this series has been one of my favorites for a while now, and it’s a read that everyone – especially those who like a good thriller – can enjoy. I mean, I definitely did: I read it in two hours.


View all my reviews

