The Last Confession by Pat Kelley Brunjes

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5


*Thank you to the author for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review*

This was great! I’ve always been a little hesitant about reading books where religion is involved, but definitely don’t let that stop you from reading this book.

The Last Confession begins with a story. Legend says that Maggie’s great-aunt Milly shot a priest. But no one in Maggie’s family explains why or how, and now Maggie is determined to figure out the truth. The journey to answers, though, is not that easy.

The plot for this was a wild ride; I loved how the story did not completely center around Maggie investigating the family legend. Along the way, we got to see glimpses of Maggie’s job and family, and this allowed me to gain a very well-rounded perspective of her journey and everyday life. Maggie’s path to the truth was extremely engaging. This was the type of mystery that I could completely immerse myself into, and I couldn’t wait to get to the end.

I loved the characters – the protagonists were flawed but likeable, and the antagonists were very complex. It seemed as though every character had their own personalities and histories, and this really helped make the story seem realistic and seamless. Maggie, the main character, was someone who was headstrong and persistent, but not mindlessly so; she could hold her own in a debate, and she had her own opinions about gender issues and religious matters. I very much enjoyed reading the discussions she had with other characters about celibacy – there are endless clashes between tradition and modernity in the current political and social sphere, and I loved the glimpse of real world problems we got.

The writing style was very engaging, and I loved how the author set up the final reveal. The story was very well thought out, and the way the book was structured really made it a page-turner.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this for everyone who enjoys reading mystery. I promise you’ll be hooked!


View all my reviews

