The Keys to the Kingdom by Elliott Downing

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 5


*Thank you to the author for providing a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

First, let me just say that I absolutely love the cover for this. It’s artistic, mysterious, and vague – perfect for this short story.

The Keys to the Kingdom takes place after a woman is hit by a stray bullet and killed. When a video of her death mysterious appears online, her boyfriend cannot stop re-watching. Then he notices something not quite right. Clues seem to suggest that he has the power to save Angela, to change the past. But is it true? Or is he just losing his mind?

The first thing that I noticed about this book was the stylistic writing; it gave the book a very mysterious and mystical tone which really helped contributed to the atmosphere provided by the story.

The plot was extremely engaging throughout and I couldn’t put the book down. There was definitely an element of surrealism to the story, and we see how development occurs not only physically, but also mentally in the mind of our main character. The blurb states, “Keys to the Kingdom is haunting story of grief, lost love, and the fine line which separates faith from madness,” and I don’t think I could’ve described it in better words.

I loved the main character; he was multifaceted and how he dealt with grief in the aftermath of his girlfriend’s death was realistic and subtly heartbreaking. There’s usually not much time to get to know a character in a short story, but while reading this, I felt like I could truly relate to the main character’s grief, curiosity, and hope.

Overall, I’d definitely recommend this – it’s a quick, thought-provoking read, and I guarantee it will captivate you from start to finish.


View all my reviews

