Sweet by Emmy Laybourne

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 1.5


This is one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read. It was absolutely bizarre, but I’m not even sure if it was in a good or bad way.

Sweet follows Laurel on a cruise with her best friend. The cruise is designed around Solu, a new artificial sweetener that is advertised as a weight-loss supplement. As it so happens, Tom, Laurel’s celebrity crush, is also on the cruise and – well, you can probably guess what’s going to happen. But it’s not over yet; something in the sweetener is making everybody act weird. When things get out of control, the only thing that Laurel and Tom can do is stick by each other and try to escape the hell that their cruise has turned into.

At first, I really liked the relationship dynamic between Tom and Laurel, but it did seem a bit cliché. You know, the celebrity and the shy underdog trope. After a while, I began to feel like I couldn’t really understand the relationship between them anymore.

The writing style was pretty good. Nothing really stood out to me, but at the same time the book was interesting overall. I was able to finish it in less than an hour.

I also think that the characters were alright, but I wish they were more developed. This is definitely a very character-centric story and it seems as though the only people that really have depth to them were Tom and Laurel, our main characters.

It’s been a few hours since I finish this book and I’m still not sure what to think. On one hand, I thought it was a bit predictable, but on the other the other, the writing made it so interesting and engaging that I couldn’t stop turning the pages. One thing I know for certain, however, is that if you’re going to read this book you might want to try doing it in private – otherwise everyone will start asking you why you’re making such weird facial expressions.


View all my reviews

