Weave a Murderous Web by Anne Rothman-Hicks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.75


*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

This was such a twisted suspense novel!

Weave a Murderous Web begins with Jane Larson, a litigator who works at Adams & Ridge, located in New York City. She decides to help out a friend by becoming involved with a divorce case, but when her opponent is revealed as a drug dealer, Jane is soon pulled into a web of lies and secrets. When people involved with the case begin to be murdered, one by one, Jane realizes the clock is ticking, and she must catch the murderer before she is the next one found dead.

This book began in a very realistic setting: a law firm. Because of that, I think it may have taken me a while to get into, because I had to lug myself past all the technicalities before being able to be pulled in by the story. Once I got past that point, however, the story definitely picked up, and I spent the last 60% of the book completely engrossed in the mystery.

The plot was absolutely packed, and I enjoyed the constant flow of discoveries that really kept me on my toes. What I realized about this book, when I was 80% through it, was that I began to suspect everyone. Everyone. Every single character was somehow flawed and suspicious, and as a reader, I could never let my guard down. To me, that’s definitely a sign of a good thriller story, and it contributed to the depth of the characters very well.

Jane was an extremely likable character, and I really enjoyed how strong and quick on her feet she was. For the other characters, although I felt like the characters we met were multi-faceted, I had a little trouble keeping track of all of them at first because so many were introduced. I found that I sometimes forgot who was who, or couldn’t pinpoint what part they had previously played in the book. I did eventually get a stronger understanding of them, but it still took a while for me to get used to.

There is a small aspect of romance in the book, and I really enjoyed how the author was able to create a balance between calmer moments and more dramatic, action-packed ones. Even the story itself was extremely layered, and we saw a great equilibrium between issues that had to do with the crime and those that leaned more towards Jane’s personal life.

The writing was relatively consistent throughout, and I enjoyed how the author withheld some of the characters’ thoughts from the reader so that I was able to completely immerse myself in the story and create my own conclusions. With that being said, I had actually predicted a bit of the ending early on, but the way everything was revealed was still captivating and I enjoyed it nevertheless.

Overall, I did enjoy reading Weave a Murderous Web although it took me a little time to get into. The plot was a roller coaster ride that was filled with distractions and plot twists, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who likes reading thriller/suspense novels set in the real world.


View all my reviews

