Are You Seeing Me? by Darren Groth

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.0


I’m a single dad and I got twin kids, I said. One who’s seventeen going on thirty, one who’s seventeen going on ten.

That. That was the line that hit me.

This story was beautiful, but in that fuzzy, cozy kind of way, with a sprinkle of heartbreak thrown in. Are You Seeing Me? is about twins, Justine and Perry. Perry’s got a brain condition that results in what people call “inappropriate behaviors”, and when their father passes away, Justine becomes his main caretaker. But then Perry is accepted at an assisted-living residence, and the two of them decide to go away on a road trip, before the goodbye. But for the twenty-year-old girl who wants to give her mother a second chance and her twin brother, who loves earthquakes, Jackie Chan, and Ogopogo, the Canadian lake monster, the world is going to continue being a little shaky.

The plot was very calm, I’d say. A lot of the progression happened emotionally, which really is the most important part. Although there was nothing really surprising, it was kind of like a cozy little adventure.

The book is also written in dual perspectives (Justine and Perry) that switched in chunks, but their voices were each so unique that I had no trouble differentiating between who was who. I especially loved reading Perry’s voice because it helped me understand what it would be like inside the mind of someone with a mental disability. I loved the abstract writing style, and though it made the climax scene a little confusing, I understood the reasoning behind it and a reread of the scene really cleared things up and added to the story’s realism.

The writing style was definitely a very strong part of this book. There were some journals written by the dad that were scattered throughout the book, and I also really enjoyed the extra depth they brought to the story.

Overall, this book was definitely a treasure, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to read such an eye-opening story.


View all my reviews

