Crazy in Love by Annabelle Costa

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.25


*Thank you to the author for a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

This was adorable – I was totally rooting for Matt and Anna the entire time!

Crazy in Love is a story written from two perspectives. There’s Anna, who suffers from severe OCD and is a social outcast in her own workplace. The only person who she thinks is okay is Matt Harper, who (secretly, of course) has a crush on her, even the crazy can-collecting and Lysol-cleaning parts of her. But Matt is dealing with his own issues, and his world is slowly falling apart. And meanwhile, Anna, for the very first time, is questioning everything she’s ever known about herself – and how she can ever fall in love if she’s so afraid of the world around her.

I think the characters were definitely the strongest part of the book. Even at the start, their characters were multi-faceted. I thought that the issues they both had to deal with were heartbreaking, but I loved how the author dealt with them in a very realistic way, illustrating the power of hope, even when life doesn’t turn out the way you expect (or want) it to. Both Matt and Anna had great character development by the end of the story, and they were powerful characters both individually and together.

The plot for this book was definitely more cozy, I would say. The book spans several years, and despite the progressions in the characters’ “situations”, I still found that I sometimes forgot that everything was happening across such a long timeline because everything else was quite similar. Nevertheless, I thought the plot was well-written; it was definitely very character-centric, which made for a very personal and thought-provoking read.

The writing style was engaging throughout, and as someone who normally dislikes dual perspective stories, I had absolutely no problem differentiating between them. In fact, I absolutely loved reading from both Matt and Anna’s perspectives, because they showed a different side of the story, and their voices were each very distinctive and strong.

Overall, this was a great read and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who was looking for a contemporary romance, especially one that touched upon real life issues, both physical and mental. It was definitely a very memorable book, and Matt and Anna are now definitely one of my favorite couples.


View all my reviews

