The Queen of Yesterday by Rob Kinsman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.5


*Thank you to the author for a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review!*

Oh man, this was one of the most unique premises I’ve read in a while, and let me just say, the author did an absolutely fantastic job.

The Queen of Yesterday begins with Zoe; her life is nothing but boring, to say the least. She’s stuck in a dead-end job, her family doesn’t feel like a family, and her love life has been nonexistent. For forever, it seems as though nothing is changing. At all. But one day, everything does. Everyone in the world wakes up and shockingly had the exact same dream the night before. Everyone except for Zoe, who, for the first time in her life, finds herself standing apart from the crowd, and not necessarily in the way she had hoped. When the shared dream – about a magical and mysterious castle – continues reappearing, the plot thickens and Zoe realizes that she may not be an outsider this time; the part she plays in this story is a whole lot bigger.

I absolutely have to begin with the plot. It was a wild ride throughout the entire book, and there were definitely plot twists where I had to put the book down because I was simply too mindblown. In the spirit of not giving anything away, I’ll keep this vague and just say that this book was completely not what I had expected. The blurb had caught my eye, but the story itself plays around with an interesting combination of the physical, the psychological, and the imaginary that I truly haven’t seen up till now.

The characters were extremely likeable, and the author was able to establish the main character arc in a way that was clear and realistic, and not overly obvious. The interactions between the different characters in different situations made for interesting juxtaposition opportunities, but no matter what the characters were thrown in, they remained consistent, yet progressive in their arc. I did have a little trouble keeping up with the characters and setting at the same time, but as I grew to understand the world-building, it became easier and easier to visualize story transitions.

The writing style was definitely another strength. There is an intriguing blend between humor and darkness, and I thought that this really created a successful balance. I especially applaud all the witty dialogue. The narrative itself was engaging throughout, and the vivid descriptions really gave me the ability to imagine the story in my mind.

Overall, I’d definitely recommend this story; I think readers of fantasy, contemporary, and even magical realism, would enjoy the Queen of Yesterday, and this was a great read overall!


View all my reviews

