90 Days of Different by Eric Walters

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.0


*Thank you to LibraryThing for sending me a free copy in exchange for an honest review.*

Alright, alright, alright. I’m actually not sure what to think. I went into this book with crazily high expectations, because (1) the cover is gorgeous and (2) the summary sounds right up my alley.

90 Days of Different follows Sophie Evans; on the last day of high school, her boyfriend dumps her, his excuse being that she is too boring and predictable. Then, Sophie’s best friend Ella agrees, and Sophie realizes that she has been playing it a little safe; as the best friend, Ella knows she has to do something about it, and she comes up with a brilliant plan: in the ninety days before Sophie goes off to college, she has to complete a bucketload of wild, crazy things – and hopefully it’ll transform her into someone who’s not afraid to step outside her comfort zone.

The characters were probably the bigger problem for me. It was extremely hard to connect with Sophie, because it felt like her only flaw was predictability. It became a bit unrealistic, on top of everything else; Sophie was considered beautiful, intelligent, “athletic” – it seemed a bit unbelievable that Sophie could be so talented at everything and yet be considered the most boring person alive. I felt like she was a bit annoying as well – maybe it’s because I don’t have the experience, but during the break-up scene, Sophie had some sarcastic comments that just seemed a bit unnecessary.

The plot idea was great, but for me it was also a bit hard to connect to because I felt like each different was very disconnected. Other than Sophie’s character development, there didn’t really seem to be an overarching storyline, and because of that, I felt like each different thing that Sophie did seemed like a separate little story in itself and it didn’t quite feel like one cohesive book.

The writing style does seem targeted to a younger audience (it says 12+ on the back) but overall I thought the writing style was good, if you didn’t count the parts where I thought Sophie’s narration was a bit annoying.

Overall, it was a good read. I’m not sure I would recommend it to anyone strongly, but if anyone is looking for a quick, light read, then go for it!


View all my reviews

